Author Topic: Red Wolf Scandal  (Read 157438 times)

0 Members and 97 Guests are viewing this topic.

citizensscience

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1168
  • Karma: +0/-0
Re: Red Wolf Scandal
« Reply #722 on: November 29, 2017, 07:17:07 AM »
Red Wolf Scandal "Heats Up"...  Extinction for this fraudulent invention looming?





NOVEMBER 27, 2017 01:14 PM

UPDATED NOVEMBER 28, 2017 07:49 AM

A key U.S. Senate committee, at the urging of Sen. Thom Tillis, has asked a federal wildlife agency to end a 30-year effort in North Carolina to save endangered red wolves from extinction.

The news was part of the Senate Appropriations Committee’s $32 billion spending bill for the Department of Interior and environmental agencies, released last week. It adds fuel to mounting pressure by North Carolina’s wildlife commission and landowners to halt the program.

Tillis, a Huntersville Republican who had previously recommended the program be ended, wrote the provision and submitted it to the committee for inclusion in the bill, his staff said.

Red wolves were declared extinct in the wild in 1980. Wolves from a captive population were re-released in North Carolina in 1987 and are the only remaining red wolves in the wild. The shy, secretive animals weigh 45 to 80 pounds as adults.

In an explanatory statement with the bill, the Appropriations Committee acknowledged the North Carolina Wildlife Resources Commission’s request in 2015 that the U.S. Fish and Wildlife Service end the program and declare red wolves extinct.

“The program has failed to meet population goals for the red wolf and has impacted North Carolina landowners and the populations of several other native species,” the statement read. “The committee encourages the (Fish and Wildlife) Service to consider ending the program in fiscal year 2018 and expects the service to work closely with the (state commission) during fiscal year 2018 as it determines further actions on this matter.”

[Red wolf territory in NC would be scaled back – and many people aren’t happy about it]

The wolves’ numbers have dropped by nearly half in recent years largely because they’re being illegally killed.

In 2013, federal biologists estimated that 90 to 110 red wolves roamed a five-county area in northeastern North Carolina called the Albemarle Peninsula. By 2016, those numbers were down to 45 to 60 wild wolves. Suspected or confirmed gunshots accounted for 17 of the dead wolves since 2013 and suspected “illegal take” such as trapping added five more.

Rewards totaling $20,000 were offered for information in the illegal poisoning of a wolf in January.

Tillis told a U.S. House committee last year that more than 500 private landowners have asked that the federal government keep wolves off their land.

“Before we do anything more in North Carolina, I think it makes the most sense to shut the program down to figure out how to do it right and build some credibility with the landowners,” Tillis said then. “There is a less than respectful history of dialogue between folks in North Carolina and the Fish and Wildlife Service. This is going to be an issue my office will be focused on for as long as I’m a U.S. senator.”

The Fish and Wildlife Service has not said it would end the program. But last year the agency proposed changes that would allow it to move wild wolves into its captive-breeding program, which holds about 200 wolves. The changes would limit wolves to federal land in Dare County alone instead of the largely private land they now roam in five counties.

A public comment period on the proposal that ended in July prompted more than 12,000 responses. Wildlife advocates who analyzed the comments reported overwhelming support for keeping wild wolves in North Carolina.

“This overwhelmingly positive response sends a crystal clear message: Americans support red wolf conservation and want the U.S. Fish and Wildlife Service to do the right thing and restore this species throughout its native range in the southeastern United States,” Jamie Rappaport Clark, a former Fish and Wildlife director who is now president of Defenders of Wildlife, said in an August statement. “The service needs to roll up its sleeves and put in the time and effort needed to bring this species back from the brink of extinction.”

Bruce Henderson: 704-358-5051, @bhender

Read more here: http://www.charlotteobserver.com/news/local/article186695573.html#storylink=cpy
Citizens Science

citizensscience

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1168
  • Karma: +0/-0
Re: Red Wolf Scandal
« Reply #721 on: November 27, 2017, 12:42:06 PM »
Red Wolf Proposed Hybrid Rule - "Endangered Invention"...

Here's the proposed language that would have extended protection for "Invented" Hybrids under the Endangered Species Act.

Courtesy of the now head of Defenders of Wildlife,  Jamie Clark.  (Clark was past Director of USFWS).





« Last Edit: November 27, 2017, 12:45:55 PM by citizensscience »
Citizens Science

citizensscience

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1168
  • Karma: +0/-0
Re: Red Wolf Scandal
« Reply #720 on: November 27, 2017, 10:19:16 AM »
Many Red Wolf advocates are not aware the USFWS is only authorized to release NO More than 6 pair of Red Wolves into the wild.  That's 12 Red Wolves in total.  Yet, the Point Defiance Zoo (PDZ) took it upon themselves to remove 132 Red Wolves from Captivity and illegally release 120 of these wolves in the wild. Over 60 of these captive born wolves were released on private land illegally.   It's unclear why the PDZ allowed 120 wolves to be removed  from the captive breeding program? Had PDZ and it's staff followed the ESA and it's federal rules, it's clear the captive breeding program wound have likely reached its stated goal with respect to the number of captive wolves.

America's conservationsist should look no further than Jamie Clark, of  Defenders of Wildlife and the officials at the Point Defiance Zoo for this failure and both should be held accountable.

Frankly no one holds more responsibility than Ms. Clark herself.

Not only did most of these self-serving shenanigans occur under her watch while she was Director of USFWS but all indicators point directly to Ms. Clark as the one who attempted to "Cover-Up" and "Muzzle" Robert Wayne's 1991 Hybrid DNA report commissioned by USFWS.

Next we learn Ms. Clark drafted a hybrid policy under the ESA that would allow invented animals to somehow become endangered... While this policy was published it failed to be adopted due to overwhelming opposition from the respected academia community...

« Last Edit: November 27, 2017, 10:50:21 AM by citizensscience »
Citizens Science

lynn

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 59
  • Karma: +2/-0
Re: Red Wolf Scandal
« Reply #719 on: November 27, 2017, 09:06:28 AM »
The red woof program may have been seccessful at one point but then RWC,DOW,AWI, and the judge in their pocket ended the local support where the woofs live and breed with the coyotes. With fewer than 30 left in the wild, how is it still seccessful?  Now the coyote population is growing  very well in the five county area where the above mentioned has them protected. Why  waste million$ to try to save a fake woof when the coyotes are doing the job the woof was put here to do? The coyotes do the same job for free.

citizensscience

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1168
  • Karma: +0/-0
Re: Red Wolf Scandal
« Reply #718 on: November 26, 2017, 06:39:13 PM »
Red Wolf supporter may need a civics lesson?  It seems Mr. Gregory has the Senate confused with the Senate...


From: Taylor Gregory <tm.gregory@yahoo.com<mailto:tm.gregory@yahoo.com>>
Date: November 24, 2017 at 8:33:47 AM EST
To: "John.Alexander@ncleg.net<mailto:John.Alexander@ncleg.net>" <John.Alexander@ncleg.net<mailto:John.Alexander@ncleg.net>>,  "Deanna.Ballard@ncleg.net<mailto:Deanna.Ballard@ncleg.net>" <Deanna.Ballard@ncleg.net<mailto:Deanna.Ballard@ncleg.net>>,  "Chad.Barefoot@ncleg.net<mailto:Chad.Barefoot@ncleg.net>" <Chad.Barefoot@ncleg.net<mailto:Chad.Barefoot@ncleg.net>>,  "Dan.Barrett@ncleg.net<mailto:Dan.Barrett@ncleg.net>" <Dan.Barrett@ncleg.net<mailto:Dan.Barrett@ncleg.net>>,  "Tamara.Barringer@ncleg.net<mailto:Tamara.Barringer@ncleg.net>" <Tamara.Barringer@ncleg.net<mailto:Tamara.Barringer@ncleg.net>>,  "Phil.Berger@ncleg.net<mailto:Phil.Berger@ncleg.net>" <Phil.Berger@ncleg.net<mailto:Phil.Berger@ncleg.net>>,  "Dan.Bishop@ncleg.net<mailto:Dan.Bishop@ncleg.net>" <Dan.Bishop@ncleg.net<mailto:Dan.Bishop@ncleg.net>>,  "Dan.Blue@ncleg.net<mailto:Dan.Blue@ncleg.net>" <Dan.Blue@ncleg.net<mailto:Dan.Blue@ncleg.net>>,  "Danny.Britt@ncleg.net<mailto:Danny.Britt@ncleg.net>" <Danny.Britt@ncleg.net<mailto:Danny.Britt@ncleg.net>>,  "Harry.Brown@ncleg.net<mailto:Harry.Brown@ncleg.net>" <Harry.Brown@ncleg.net<mailto:Harry.Brown@ncleg.net>>,  "Angela.Bryant@ncleg.net<mailto:Angela.Bryant@ncleg.net>" <Angela.Bryant@ncleg.net<mailto:Angela.Bryant@ncleg.net>>,  "Jay.Chaudhuri@ncleg.net<mailto:Jay.Chaudhuri@ncleg.net>" <Jay.Chaudhuri@ncleg.net<mailto:Jay.Chaudhuri@ncleg.net>>,  "Ben.Clark@ncleg.net<mailto:Ben.Clark@ncleg.net>" <Ben.Clark@ncleg.net<mailto:Ben.Clark@ncleg.net>>,  "Bill.Cook@ncleg.net<mailto:Bill.Cook@ncleg.net>" <Bill.Cook@ncleg.net<mailto:Bill.Cook@ncleg.net>>,  "David.Curtis@ncleg.net<mailto:David.Curtis@ncleg.net>" <David.Curtis@ncleg.net<mailto:David.Curtis@ncleg.net>>,  "Warren.Daniel@ncleg.net<mailto:Warren.Daniel@ncleg.net>" <Warren.Daniel@ncleg.net<mailto:Warren.Daniel@ncleg.net>>,  "Don.Davis@ncleg.net<mailto:Don.Davis@ncleg.net>" <Don.Davis@ncleg.net<mailto:Don.Davis@ncleg.net>>,  "Jim.Davis@ncleg.net<mailto:Jim.Davis@ncleg.net>" <Jim.Davis@ncleg.net<mailto:Jim.Davis@ncleg.net>>,  "Cathy.Dunn@ncleg.net<mailto:Cathy.Dunn@ncleg.net>" <Cathy.Dunn@ncleg.net<mailto:Cathy.Dunn@ncleg.net>>,  "Chuck.Edwards@ncleg.net<mailto:Chuck.Edwards@ncleg.net>" <Chuck.Edwards@ncleg.net<mailto:Chuck.Edwards@ncleg.net>>,  "Joel.Ford@ncleg.net<mailto:Joel.Ford@ncleg.net>" <Joel.Ford@ncleg.net<mailto:Joel.Ford@ncleg.net>>,  "Valerie.Foushee@ncleg.net<mailto:Valerie.Foushee@ncleg.net>" <Valerie.Foushee@ncleg.net<mailto:Valerie.Foushee@ncleg.net>>,  "Rick.Gunn@ncleg.net<mailto:Rick.Gunn@ncleg.net>" <Rick.Gunn@ncleg.net<mailto:Rick.Gunn@ncleg.net>>,  "Kathy.Harrington@ncleg.net<mailto:Kathy.Harrington@ncleg.net>" <Kathy.Harrington@ncleg.net<mailto:Kathy.Harrington@ncleg.net>>,  "Ralph.Hise@ncleg.net<mailto:Ralph.Hise@ncleg.net>" <Ralph.Hise@ncleg.net<mailto:Ralph.Hise@ncleg.net>>,  "Rick.Horner@ncleg.net<mailto:Rick.Horner@ncleg.net>" <Rick.Horner@ncleg.net<mailto:Rick.Horner@ncleg.net>>,  "Brent.Jackson@ncleg.net<mailto:Brent.Jackson@ncleg.net>" <Brent.Jackson@ncleg.net<mailto:Brent.Jackson@ncleg.net>>,  "Jeff.Jackson@ncleg.net<mailto:Jeff.Jackson@ncleg.net>" <Jeff.Jackson@ncleg.net<mailto:Jeff.Jackson@ncleg.net>>,  "Joyce.Krawiec@ncleg.net<mailto:Joyce.Krawiec@ncleg.net>" <Joyce.Krawiec@ncleg.net<mailto:Joyce.Krawiec@ncleg.net>>,  "Michael.Lee@ncleg.net<mailto:Michael.Lee@ncleg.net>" <Michael.Lee@ncleg.net<mailto:Michael.Lee@ncleg.net>>,  "Paul.Lowe@ncleg.net<mailto:Paul.Lowe@ncleg.net>" <Paul.Lowe@ncleg.net<mailto:Paul.Lowe@ncleg.net>>,  "Tom.McInnis@ncleg.net<mailto:Tom.McInnis@ncleg.net>" <Tom.McInnis@ncleg.net<mailto:Tom.McInnis@ncleg.net>>,  "Floyd.McKissick@ncleg.net<mailto:Floyd.McKissick@ncleg.net>" <Floyd.McKissick@ncleg.net<mailto:Floyd.McKissick@ncleg.net>>,  "Wesley.Meredith@ncleg.net<mailto:Wesley.Meredith@ncleg.net>" <Wesley.Meredith@ncleg.net<mailto:Wesley.Meredith@ncleg.net>>,  "Paul.Newton@ncleg.net<mailto:Paul.Newton@ncleg.net>" <Paul.Newton@ncleg.net<mailto:Paul.Newton@ncleg.net>>,  "Louis.Pate@ncleg.net<mailto:Louis.Pate@ncleg.net>" <Louis.Pate@ncleg.net<mailto:Louis.Pate@ncleg.net>>,  "Ron.Rabin@ncleg.net<mailto:Ron.Rabin@ncleg.net>" <Ron.Rabin@ncleg.net<mailto:Ron.Rabin@ncleg.net>>,  "Bill.Rabon@ncleg.net<mailto:Bill.Rabon@ncleg.net>" <Bill.Rabon@ncleg.net<mailto:Bill.Rabon@ncleg.net>>,  "Shirley.Randleman@ncleg.net<mailto:Shirley.Randleman@ncleg.net>" <Shirley.Randleman@ncleg.net<mailto:Shirley.Randleman@ncleg.net>>,  "Gladys.Robinson@ncleg.net<mailto:Gladys.Robinson@ncleg.net>" <Gladys.Robinson@ncleg.net<mailto:Gladys.Robinson@ncleg.net>>,  "Norman.Sanderson@ncleg.net<mailto:Norman.Sanderson@ncleg.net>" <Norman.Sanderson@ncleg.net<mailto:Norman.Sanderson@ncleg.net>>,  "Erica.Smith-Ingram@ncleg.net<mailto:Erica.Smith-Ingram@ncleg.net>" <Erica.Smith-Ingram@ncleg.net<mailto:Erica.Smith-Ingram@ncleg.net>>,  "Jeff.Tarte@ncleg.net<mailto:Jeff.Tarte@ncleg.net>" <Jeff.Tarte@ncleg.net<mailto:Jeff.Tarte@ncleg.net>>,  "Jerry.Tillman@ncleg.net<mailto:Jerry.Tillman@ncleg.net>" <Jerry.Tillman@ncleg.net<mailto:Jerry.Tillman@ncleg.net>>,  "Jerry.Tillman@ncleg.net<mailto:Jerry.Tillman@ncleg.net>" <Jerry.Tillman@ncleg.net<mailto:Jerry.Tillman@ncleg.net>>,  "Tommy.Tucker@ncleg.net<mailto:Tommy.Tucker@ncleg.net>" <Tommy.Tucker@ncleg.net<mailto:Tommy.Tucker@ncleg.net>>,  "Terry.VanDuyn@ncleg.net<mailto:Terry.VanDuyn@ncleg.net>" <Terry.VanDuyn@ncleg.net<mailto:Terry.VanDuyn@ncleg.net>>,  "Joyce.Waddell@ncleg.net<mailto:Joyce.Waddell@ncleg.net>" <Joyce.Waddell@ncleg.net<mailto:Joyce.Waddell@ncleg.net>>,  "Trudy.Wade@ncleg.net<mailto:Trudy.Wade@ncleg.net>" <Trudy.Wade@ncleg.net<mailto:Trudy.Wade@ncleg.net>>,  "Andy.Wells@ncleg.net<mailto:Andy.Wells@ncleg.net>" <Andy.Wells@ncleg.net<mailto:Andy.Wells@ncleg.net>>,  "Mike.Woodard@ncleg.net<mailto:Mike.Woodard@ncleg.net>" <Mike.Woodard@ncleg.net<mailto:Mike.Woodard@ncleg.net>>
Subject: Red Wolf Recovery Program
Reply-To: Taylor Gregory <tm.gregory@yahoo.com<mailto:tm.gregory@yahoo.com>>

Good Morning NC General Assembly,

I hope that you all had a wonderful Thanksgiving with your family.  I send this email in response to a bill that was introduced into the senate on the 21st regarding the Department of the Interior with an initiative to the US Fish and Wildlife that would end the Red Wolf Recovery Program here in North Carolina.  As a resident of North Carolina and a veterinary student with an interest in conservation medicine, I urge you to not allow this bill to pass and to continue the Red Wolf Recovery Program here in North Carolina.  This program is a source of pride for our state that has been successful.  Since the start of the program, we have increased from 17 wolves to over 250.  That is amazing!  Additionally, the red wolf is extremely important to our ecosystem here at the coast.  The video link below is about the impact the reintroduction of wolves had on Yellowstone National park, which is similar to the impact the red wolf can have here.  Before you let this bill go through, please take the 5 minutes to watch this video and take an additional 5 minutes to understand how important this program is.
How Wolves Change Rivers<https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ysa5OBhXz-Q>

<https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ysa5OBhXz-Q>

[https://s.yimg.com/nq/storm/assets/enhancrV2/23/logos/youtube.png]
How Wolves Change Rivers
Support the creation of more videos like this: https://www.patreon.com/sustainablehuman This video is a gift to ...

Cheers,

Taylor Gregory
Citizens Science

citizensscience

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1168
  • Karma: +0/-0
Re: Red Wolf Scandal
« Reply #717 on: November 17, 2017, 06:52:49 AM »



Red Wolf Exclusive Interview with Private Landowner Mr. Jett Ferebee -

What went wrong...  (link below)

Click here - https://vimeo.com/citizensscience/redwolf





Red Wolf Scandal, USFWS Red Wolf Recovery Program, Red Wolf Update, Red Wolf Hybrid, Citizens Science
« Last Edit: November 20, 2017, 10:36:24 PM by citizensscience »
Citizens Science

citizensscience

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1168
  • Karma: +0/-0
Re: Red Wolf Scandal
« Reply #716 on: October 29, 2017, 05:49:56 AM »
Red Wolves - Drowned & Down

The Red Wolf has historically had a high level of drowning mortality, wonder if Mr. Waddell and the Point Defiance Zoo have selectively bred that historic "Swimming" instinct from the Invented and Captive Genes??

Of course, when you have to continually "Manage" (leghold trap) the Red Wolves to change-out the batteries in their tracking collars, the drownings will continue to occur.

Question becomes is the Red Wolf Coalition still "Paying" for the Leg-Hold Trapped Red Wolves?  How much do they pay for a waterlogged Red Wolf?

*Citizens Science will have an interesting post forthcoming shortly additionally, please consider sharing this page with others by copy / paste the white address bar at the top of the page.










« Last Edit: October 29, 2017, 06:10:11 AM by citizensscience »
Citizens Science

lynn

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 59
  • Karma: +2/-0
Re: Red Wolf Scandal
« Reply #715 on: October 28, 2017, 08:29:00 PM »
Last i heard there were as few as 29 they could track. I sure thought they would have giving some word on what thier plan is for the woof before deer season. Go figure!

citizensscience

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1168
  • Karma: +0/-0
Re: Red Wolf Scandal
« Reply #714 on: October 28, 2017, 07:33:54 PM »
Red Wolf Shot


Odie - The Red Wolf Mortality database hasn't been updated since 2016?  What's the # for 2017, any idea? Or you can check with the official Coroner for the Red Wolf... Mr. Pete Benjermin to get the official update.

Here check for yourself... https://www.fws.gov/redwolf/





Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
« Last Edit: October 29, 2017, 05:12:37 AM by citizensscience »
Citizens Science

citizensscience

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1168
  • Karma: +0/-0
Re: Red Wolf Scandal
« Reply #713 on: October 26, 2017, 10:19:50 PM »

The Visionary Red Wolf depends  on Donation$ not public support!
Citizens Science